On The Stereo #1

Gruff Rhys – American Interior

This Friday I’m off to see Gruff play the Llangollen Fringe Festival. Although I am/was a big fan of the Super Furry Animals, I never really took the time to listen to Gruff Rhys’ solo efforts. American Interior was recommended to me by a friend and is easily one of my top five albums of the year so far.

For fans of: Super Furry Animals, Gorky’s Zygotic Mwnci, Cate Le Bon

 

Wye Oak – Shriek

I heard the title track to this album on BBC6 Music a few weeks back and absolutely loved it. Time to give the album a whirl….

For fans of: St Vincent, Sharon Van Etten

 

The Horrors – Luminous

It was The Horrors’ 2011 album Skying that finally made me appreciate the Southend-on-sea 5 piece. So far, after a couple of listens Luminous hasn’t quite grabbed me the same way Skying did. Here’s hoping this one’s a grower.

 For fans of: The Jesus and Mary Chain, Tame Impala, Foals

 

 Surfer Blood – Pythons

I was listening to an old playlist the other day and a track from this album came on called ‘Weird Shapes’. It reminded me how much a liked Pythons when it came out last year; it spent about a month solid being my car journey soundtrack. So, have a listen and if you like it, their 2010 album Astro Coast is most definitely with a spin too.

 For fans of: Real Estate, Tokyo Police Club, Girls

Leave a Reply

