New Soundz #4: Femme – Fever Boy

femme

 

I was scrolling through my Facebook feed when I came across a list put together by the editor of Drowned In Sound, it featured his/her favourite tracks released by independent labels this year. So, as with most song/album lists that I find, I began giving each song a listen.

The 6th song down was a track titled ‘Fever Boy’ by Femme and after giving the song about 20 seconds I was thinking maybe it wasn’t my thing. How wrong I was. At 27 seconds the chorus comes in, and what a chorus it is; pure unadulterated pop, hook after hook, easily one of the catchiest things I’ve heard for awhile. The rest of the song then fell into place, from the staccato bass line pulled along by a straight beat to the sheer attitude of the vocal delivery. Pop at its finest.

After a little research I found out that Femme is the brainchild of singer/songwriter and producer Laura Bettinson. Her wikipedia page states she has been writing and gigging since she was 16 and that ‘Fever Boy’ was released last year as a double A side along with a song titled ‘Heartbeat’.

Listen below.

spotify:album:4v8EuBCwElEDHB1ypMLDbn

Here’s Femme performing ‘Fever Boy’ live for Shutter Sessions last year, check it out.

Leave a Reply

