On The Stereo #2

On The Stereo this week………

Interpol – El Pintor

Interpol’s 5th LP El Pintor was released this week. For me, Interpol’s 2010 self titled album was quite a let down and if I’m honest, after the departure of bassist Carlos D I was expecting this release to follow suit. How wrong I was, the driving lead single ‘All The Rage Back Home’ was enough to get me excited and after a hearing El Pintor a few times now, it gets better with every listen.

For Fans Of: Joy Divison, Editors, The National

 

Ryan Adams – Ryan Adams

Ryan Adams’ new self titled album was also out this week, out of all the albums due for release recently this was the one I was looking forward to the most and so far it has been the most disappointing. Album opener ‘Gimme Something Good’ is a glimpse of the Ryan Adams we know and love and although the rest of the album isn’t necessarily bad, the songs and melodies are nowhere near as strong as Ryan’s previous efforts. I’m a big fan of RA so I’m not going to give up on the LP yet but based on first impressions it doesn’t look good.

For Fans Of: Wilco, Neil Young, The Rolling Stones

 

Karen O – Crush Songs

Crush Songs is Karen O’s first record away from her day job with NYC punk outfit the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. Recorded between 2006 and 2010 and not intended for release, Crush Songs is an album of 15 roughly recorded, raw and intimate songs in which Karen O bares her soul.

For Fans Of: Yeah Yeah Yeahs, PJ Harvey, Feist

 

The Zombies – Odessey and Oracle

A friend introduced me to this album a while back and I find myself always going back to it. It was released in 1968 and according to wikipedia it was ‘received indifferently on release but has since become critically acclaimed’. It is a fantastic record from start to finish, slowly becoming one of my favourites of all time.

For Fans Of: The Kinks, The Byrds, The Beach Boys

Leave a Reply

